Delhi History

A 5000 year old city situated on the banks of Yamuna River is a large metropolis. It is said to be built and destroyed 11 times. If you turn the pages of History of Delhi you will find that it is ruled over by different dynasty from time to time. The city of Delhi was explored and discovered from time to time by different dynasty and we can felt their presence. It is believed to be the site of Indraprastha the capital of Pandavas. In Sanskrit language Delhi used to refer as Hastinapur which means Elephant city. The presence of architectural relics shows the presence of Mauryan period, the presence of Emperor Asoka (273-235 B.C) when as inscription was discovered srinivaspuri near Noida. Raja Dhilu (King Dihlu) founded ancient Delhi in 800 B.C. You can find the sandstone pillars inscribed with edicts of Asoka which is brought to the city by Firoz Shah Tughlaq in the 14th century. The Tomar dynasty founded then Lal kot in AD 736 near Qutab Minar. But Tomar dynasty can’t run quite long and it is soon take over by Chauhan Rajput Kings of Ajmer and conquered Lal kot in 1180 and renamed it Qila Rai pithora.

                                                         Delhi in ancient era called by different names. In 1450 B.C (approx) named Indraprastha which now recognized as a site of Purana Qila. Then referred as Lal Kot or Qila Rail Pithora built in 1060 A.D by Rajput Tomars which is now a site near Qutab Minar-Mehrauli complex. City Sri in 1304 A.D built by Alauddin Khilji which is now near Hauz Khas and Gulmohar park. In 1321-1323 A.D city of Tughlaqabad was formed which is 8 kms from Qutub complex. While after that a city of Jahanpanah was formed in 14th century built by Mohammed-bin-Tughlaq in mid 14th century a site which is built between Siri and Qutub Minar.(213). Later on Firozabad city was formed  in 1354 A.D by Feroze Tughlaq which is a site known as Kotla Feroz Shah and a famous Cricket stadium of Delhi which host various International matches is named after him and it is known as Feroz Shah Kotla International Cricket Stadium. The city of Dilli Sher Shahi (Shergarh) was actually started by Humayun which is located around Purana Qila in Delhi. In mid 17th century Shah Jahan formed the city of Shahjahanabad which was a seventh city of Delhi which is now the existing Old Delhi, the Red fort and Jama Masjid.  Year 1526 set up a base of Mughal Empire in Delhi when Babur, a descendant of Genghis Khan defeated the last Lodhi sultan in the First battle of Panipat and founded the Mughal Empire.

The Constitution Act, 1991 declared the union territory of Delhi to be formally known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s